How To Delete An Instagram Account Permanently

Admin
0

You would like to remove your Instagram account but can't find the choice. No fears. This guide from Pocket-lint will tell you how. Remember that when you delete your Account, it will be gone for good, along with your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and friends. You can instead choose to turn off your Account. But that's not what this post is about. This is how you can get rid of Instagram for good.


What To Know About Deleting Vs. Deactivating


Depending on what you want to do, you can suspend or delete your Instagram account. Deactivating your Account is only for a short time, but while it is inactive, other users won't be able to see your profile, friends, photos, likes, and comments. Log back into your Account to get this information back and use Instagram regularly again.


You can't change your mind about deleting your Instagram account; a removed account can't be returned. When you delete your Instagram account, all your pictures, friends, likes, and other information will be gone forever. If you want to join Instagram again in the future, you won't be able to use the same username, and neither will anyone else.


Deactivation Of An Instagram Account


If you want to take a break from Instagram or aren't ready to do something crazy, deactivate your account instead of deleting it. When you disable it, you are logged out, and your identity is hidden. From the point of view of the people who follow you, you could have easily deleted the account. But this way, if your username is suddenly blocked, you can get it back by logging in again. To close your account, follow these steps:


  • You can't do this from the app, so go to Instagram.com in your browser on any computer.

  • If you're asked to, sign in.

  • Press the "profile icon" in the right corner.

  • Press "Profile," then click "Edit Profile."

  • Scroll down and click "Temporarily disable my account" to the upper right of the "Submit" button.

  • People ask you why you're doing it. Choose a choice from the window that drops down.

  • Sign in again with your account password.

  • Tap "Temporarily Disable Account."


Downloading Your Instagram Information


Once you delete your Instagram account, you can't get any of your information back. So, you might want to download the information from Instagram before you delete your Account to keep all the photos, videos, etc., you have shared over time. To get a copy of your Instagram info, do the following:


  • Go to your Instagram page and click the gear icon next to "Settings."

  • Click "Privacy and Security" and then "Request Download."

  • Enter an email address where you want a link to your Instagram information sent, then type in your password.

  • In 48 hours, you should get an email called "Your Instagram Data" with a link to your data. Click "Data to Download."


How To Delete An Instagram Account


The first thing to do: You have to log into your Instagram account to ask for it to be deleted permanently. Once you log in, you can ask Instagram.com to permanently delete your Account from a laptop or mobile computer. Or, you can use the Instagram app for iPhone to do it. After your Account is removed, you can use the same username to sign up again as long as it hasn't been taken by someone else on Instagram.


Instagram.com


  • Go to Instagram.com on your computer and sign in to your Instagram account.

  • Go to the page to delete your Account from a computer or mobile browser.

  • Choose a reason from the "Why do you want to delete [account name]?" choice and re-enter your password. 

  • You won't be able to fully delete your Account until you choose a reason and type in your password.

  • Click or tap [username] and then Delete.


Instagram App


  • Open the Instagram app on your smartphone and sign in to your Instagram account.

  • To your profile, tap Profile or your picture in the bottom right corner.

  • Tap More Choices in the upper right corner, then tap Settings.

  • Tap Account, and then at the bottom, tap Delete Account.

  • Tap Delete account, and then tap Continue removing Account.

  • Choose an answer to the question "Why do you want to delete [account name]?" and then enter your password again.

  • You won't be able to fully delete your Account until you've chosen a reason and typed in your password.

  • Tap [username] > Delete, and then tap OK to confirm.


What Happens If You Want Permanent Deletion?


According To Instagram, This Occurs When You Ask For Your Instagram Account To Be Deleted For Good.


  • Your Account and all its information will be deleted for 30 days after you ask to have them removed.

  • You aren't going to able to get your information back after 30 days.

  • During those 30 days, other Instagram users won't be able to see the material.

  • After the process of deleting starts, it could take up to 90 days to finish.


How To Save Your Instagram Account


Before you delete your Instagram account, you might want to log in and grab a copy of your pictures and posts. Just use the tool to download data from Instagram. Pocket-lint also has a full guide on using the tool, which is a good way to save all your pictures and posts before you delete your Instagram account.


Read Also: 6 Things I Wish I Had Known Before I Started Blogging


How long does Instagram keep my info after I've deleted my account?


Instagram says it can take up to 90 days to delete your account fully. This means that Instagram may still have some information concerning your account on its computers. But Instagram's Data Policy says the company can keep details about your account for over 90 days. The company may keep some of your information for legal reasons or because you broke the company's Terms of Use.


Conclusion


If you follow the steps and delete all your posts and friends, Instagram will delete your Account for good. But you've got 30 days to change your mind and get your Account back on the site after you asked to delete it. During this time, nobody can see anything you post or comment on.


Post a Comment

0Comments

Post a Comment (0)

#buttons=(Ok, Go it!) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Check Now
Ok, Go it!